Top 10 Books of 2013

I read 49 books in 2013.  I narrowed it down to the 10 best books of the year.  It was difficult to narrow it down, but here’s what I came up with, in chronological order (not order of importance):

George Whitefield, Vol. 2 by Arnold Dallimore (my review: The greatest evangelist since Paul.)

George Whitefield: The Life and Times of the Great Evangelist of the Eighteenth Century - Volume II

Ex Libris by Anne Fadiman (my review: the fellowship of books.)

Ex Libris: Confessions of a Common Reader

Healing the New Childhood Epidemics by Kenneth Bock (my review: the best book on medical philosophy I’ve read)

Healing the New Childhood Epidemics: Autism, ADHD, Asthma, and Allergies: The Groundbreaking Program for the 4-A Disorders

Desiring God by John Piper (my review: deep and delightful)

Desiring God, Revised Edition: Meditations of a Christian Hedonist

God Is the Gospel  by John Piper (my review: The glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ)

God Is the Gospel (Paperback Edition): Meditations on God's Love as the Gift of Himself

How to Read a Book by Mortimer Adler (my review: adding my voice to the chorus of deserved praise)

How to Read a Book: The Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading (A Touchstone book)

The Baptism and Gifts of the Spirit by David Martyn Lloyd-Jones (my review: Our greatest need – the power of the Holy Spirit)

The Baptism and Gifts of the Spirit

The Unity of the Bible by Daniel P. Fuller (my review: an Edwardsean survey of redemptive history)

The Unity of the Bible: Unfolding God's Plan for Humanity

God’s Passion for His Glory  by John Piper (my review: Theological Timber)

God's Passion for His Glory (Paperback Edition): Living the Vision of Jonathan Edwards (With the Complete Text of The End for Which God Created the World)

The Nature of True Virtue: by Jonathan Edwards (no review yet)

The Nature of True Virtue:

Leave a Reply

